Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

Though riding a bike can bring more benefits to the environment than using other means of transportation, it is not the priority option for most people. There are plenty of causes for this matter, and action must be taken to deal with it. The unpopularity of bicycles stems from its inconvenience and lack of aesthetics. Firstly, living places of many people are quite remote from their working offices, therefore, cycling to work can cost a lot of time and energy. Instead, they can choose motorbikes or cars which can go faster and do not require much of their power in the early morning. Moreover, the security for bikes at public places is quite low. Thieves can easily steal a bike in spite of the fact that it may be locked. In contrast, other forms of transport can be quite a challenging target for robbers. Secondly, this environmentally friendly means of transportation does not have a fashionable look for occasions requiring the formality. Therefore, for important events, to show up in the most decent and luxurious way, a bicycle is not a great choice for the majority of the population. In spite of the reasons mentioned above, bikes can help reduce pollution, therefore, solutions must be adopted to raise their popularity. Firstly, bicycles with electric engine should be manufactured and put into practice more. They can reduce the effort of people when cycling because the transport is powered by the boost of electricity instead of human strength. They can save both energy and time for riders. More protection should be adopted to bikes to make it harder to be stolen. As a result, residents can be more assured to cycle around in public places. Last but not least, the community should be raised more awareness of the importance of cycling. Protecting the environment is more important than their looks to the public. In conclusion, riding a bicycle is not a favored activity due to numerous reasons, however, by taking action, it can become a trendier option for traffic participants.