It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It has been observed that in recent years, there has been a noticeable decline in the number of students opting to study science in many nations. Numerous factors have given birth to this situation, and it is likely to have serious implications for the future development of society. Emphasising the possible causes behind this trend, the major one could be the challenging nature of science courses. In other words, subjects like physics, chemistry, biology and maths are often seen as more difficult, time-consuming and require consistent efforts, problem problem-solving skills compared to other subjects. Thus, mostly learners try to build their career in non- science fields. Another remarkable aspect to be held responsible is the tough competition in this sector. In simple words, there is are limited number of jobs, but high score cut off of academic and practical exams are there because of which people are usually afraid to choose it as their career aspect. Not only this, in many school systems, science education is not made engaging or practical, therefore, a lack of hands-on experiments and less career counselling often fails to inspire students to pursue scientific fields. Conversely, the impact of decline is concerning. The shortage of healthcare professionals, engineers can lead to slow development in many countries. As a result, countries may be forced to import such professionals from other countries to fill the gap, and this can weaken the economic growth of the nation. Not to be left behind is the impact on research on environmental issues. Science plays a critical role in understanding and addressing environmental challenges. Without enough environmental scientists, societies may struggle to manage natural resources, combat climate change, or develop sustainable solutions. Lastly, I would like to recapitulate by saying that no doubt, high competition, hard academic syllabus and fewer opportunities are responsible for the significant decrease in students in the science stream; however, this trend could harm the long-term progress of society.