Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of English. Is this a positive or negative development?

The rising trend of learning English has spread worldwide, threatening the existence of numerous local languages. Although English has slowly replaced the local languages, it also opens up access to wealth of knowledge and brings international job opportunities. This essay will show that the positivity far outweighs the negativity. English has become one of the most important international tools for communication in the modern world. As a global lingua franca, it’s proven that English bridges people to the accessibility of knowledge. Much literature for school is written or being translated into English, and understanding English is essential to expand a person’s knowledge therefore they can read and understand better. For instance, letter of humanism by Heidegger, the original book was in German language. There were so many philosophy enthusiasts during that time wanting to read it but couldn’t understand it, because it’s written in German. But now, it’s available in English, and anyone can access it and understand the letter of humanism. One other reason why the increasing use of English is a positive trend is that it can significantly enhance an individual's career opportunities. In today’s globalized world, so many individuals are able to access remote work positions that require English proficiency. These roles, which are often offered by international companies, typically provide better pay and more flexibility compared to local office jobs. For instance, a secretary working at a local company without English skill might earn 4 million per month. In contrast, a virtual assistant who speaks English and works remotely for a foreign company can earn up to 20 million rupiah. On the other hand, it is argued that the usage of local language possibly experiences a sharp decline because of English. Many fear that native language is slowly being forgotten, because the younger generation might be more interested in learning English than the local languages. Furthermore, local language is deeply connected to identity and heritage; when a language disappears their identity will also disappear. In conclusion, although some may say that the local voice is dying out, I believe that English ’s benefits far outweigh the effects because of its contribution to elevate people’s lives.