In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any in-person interaction with others. Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s fast-paced world, it is not required to physically present to achieve tasks such as shopping, performing the job, or interacting with others. In fact, from my perspective I believe this trend would lead to negatives rather than positives if it is analysed deeply as outlined below. Firstly, it is accepted that online platforms have introduced cost- and time-effective approaches in terms of occupations such as work from home. But if we have a closer look at the long-term consequences, the emotional attachments between people, such as compassion, affection, and empathy, will be downgraded. Apart from that, online learning platforms do not allow children to engage in activities that improve their teamwork, unity, and sharing among their peers. This may cause personality disorders and selfishness at an early growing stage. As a human is recognised as a socialised animal according to research, isolation may result in mental health issues as well. For example, nowadays some teenagers are persuaded to build emotional attachments with AI tools, mistaking them for real friends or romantic partners as a result of extreme usage of technology. The loss of such virtual relationships has even led to severe psychological situations and, in serious cases, suicide. Further, when someone goes abroad, leaving their closer one in their motherland, they also sometimes feel lonely and mentally unstable; there is a higher trend of breaking up long-distance relationships of lovers after their detachment in similar cases. Therefore, in-person presence is essential to maintain strong emotional bonds. In conclusion, although it is convenient to adapt to online platforms, as a human being it is necessary to maintain physical attachment with others, to calm the mind, and to prevent stress in this competitive world.