Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There exists a widely held perception that children start learning a foreign language as a second language at elementary school is more effective than in middle school. From my personal perspective, this proposal offers more benefits in comparison with disadvantages, as children at a very young age are more talented at training. One major advantage is that young children have a strong capacity to learn a new language. To be more precise, they can not only learn faster, but also develop a more native-like accent. Another benefit is that these children would show high levels of self-confidence and communication skills, which creates a unique opportunity to grow professionally in the future. For example, the Ministry of Education announced that the new generation who have begun learning a foreign language at kindergarten possessed various practical skills compared to other children in Iran, in 2025. As a result, the younger the children are, the quicker they learn a different language. However, one disadvantage is that teaching young children is quit challenging because they are playful and bubbly, and they do not have enough interaction with their teachers. Another possible drawback is a lack of professional teachers, which may cause poor-quality education. As an example, Tehran University's research shows that children have resistance against the mandatory learning in early stages. Furthermore, having practical programs and trained teachers play a crucial role in children's growth. To sum up, although starting to learn a new language has both advantages and disadvantages, from my vantage point, young children have a great ability to absorb new and demanding subjects. Thus, my preference is to use their young minds in order to build a remarkable society for posterity.