Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many of the world's major cities. Explain some possible reasons for this problem, and suggest some solutions. Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, traffic congestion is becoming an increasingly serious issue in many big cities around the world. Several factors contribute to this growing problem, but there are also some effective strategies that can help decrease it. This essay will be dedicated to these both aspects. There might be many reasons for traffic congestion, but the outstanding ones are population growth and poor traffic management. As the number of people increases, it leads to a higher number of vehicles. Moreover, for some people, cars are the symbol of status, which can lead to having more than one car per person and 2 to 3 cars for a family. And it worsens another matter, since majority of the cities were not originally designed for so many cars. There is a huge lack of parking spaces as well as the problem of narrow roads, which is costly to change. To address this issue, several steps should be implemented. Firstly, better public transport systems and more convenient and affordable transport can encourage people to use it more often and thus reduce traffic jams. Secondly, since Covid-19, many people are used to work from home. So, promoting remote work can help to solve the problem. In conclusion, even though traffic congestion is an increasing issue, it can be solved by improving public transportation and encouraging remote work.