In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is growing debate on whether extension of the lifespan is beneficail to the society. While some people believe that it may positively affect our society, I argue the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages as a whole. On one hand, it is true that improving life expectancy has its benefits. With decades of experience, professions, and problem-solving skills, older adults can be the mentors of the younger generation and help train the young employees. Moreover, the elderly people can also help look after their grandchildren, enabling young couples, especially women, can work more efficiently in the workforce without worrying about childcare. Meanwhile, this strengthens the family bond, which benefits the harmony of society. Additionally, an aging population creates demand for specific goods and services, such as healthcare, wellness products, travel and leisure services, etc., and it produces new opportunities for the silver economy. As they have a stable retirement insurance income, the consumption in these fields may contribute to economic growth. On the other hand, an aging population will cause a variety of social issues. Firstly, with the prolonging of people’s lives, the expenditure on social insurance and healthcare may increase, resulting in a higher tax levied on the employees to support the expenses. This might decrease the disposable income of many people and thus affect their well-being. Secondly, the improving expectation of the lifespan may delay the retirement age, leading to a rise in unemployment rate of the younger generation, which is a main factor affecting societal stability. Thirdly, More aging labour may adversely influence the productivity of the whole society, as they may not be as efficient as the young workers. In conclusion, although improvement of life expectancy may have its positive impact on some aspects, the problems caused by this phenomenon cannot be neglected, and these shortcomings have a more adverse influence as a whole.