Some people believe t hat violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence in people’s behavior. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, we see content on TV and games, which is very violent in nature. This trend has sparked a debate among people, whether it has a bad effect on the society or not. However, I am having a balanced stance on this, and reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who think violence is deteriorating our society assert that continuous exposure to violent stuff can change our psychology to accept it as a normal trend. As a matter of fact, it has seen that people are becoming insensitive to violence, because their brains have seen it many times on the media and it has accepted this change, which is not normal. To illustrate, recently many incidents of firing have been reported in the USA, where many accused have said that they got such ideas from many web-series and video games, such as PUB-G. Therefore, it is a widely acceptable fact that showcase of violence on mass media is altering our psychology to accept it as a part of daily life. On the other hand, those who are in disagreement opine, whether to behave violently or not is a matter of personal choice, and this has nothing to do with the television and video games. In fact, it has been seen that criminal behaviour and unlawful activities are generally done under peer pressure and personal circumstances. For example, Darbara Singh was a serial killer caught in Punjab, and in his confession he said that he always had criminal thoughts in his mind and they were triggered by his friends and family. Hence, it is not justified to put blame solely on media, because if some individual is going on a wrong track, it is a matter of personal choices and circumstances. In conclusion, undoubtedly to some extent the violent content shown on TV and video games is influencing people's behaviour, but individuals will is also an important factor, which determine their actions.