Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

Mobile phones nowadays contain essential features and also entertainment. There has been a large growth seen in the usage of smartphones among youngsters. There are several reasons behind this situation and I find this development more beneficial than negative. Both the reasons and my view is elaborated further. The first reason for the overuse of smart devices by youngsters are the social benefits they provide. A smart phone connected to the internet opens up large possibilities, from creating new friends to communicating with them over social media. For instance, a child in my neighbourhood chats for hours with his school friends on Facebook and also spends time on video sharing applications. Moreover, mobile gaming, especially multiplayer games, is another major reason for this situation. Children play different kinds of games on mobile for the entertainment purposes, and they involve themselves in games in such a manner that they forget about the time and other responsibilities. However, I believe that smartphones have also increased the knowledge of pupils. They have developed some important social skills, such as communication, team work and many more, by allowing them to work and play in groups, without the restriction of distance. In addition, children can learn through the internet by watching online videos and reading articles, which ultimately helps them in their studies as well as language skills. For example, whenever my niece requires to know something, she searches it online and finds out. Moreover, multiplayer online gaming improves their multitasking ability and it also gives them a competitive environment. Overall, I agree that the overuse of smartphones on a regular basis is harmful for children, but if given proper guidance, mobile phones can also help them in learning some life-long skills.