Of all the global environmental problems, desertification is, perhaps, the most threatening for poor rural people. Desertification is the expansion of desert lands into previously non-desert areas. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

Desertification has been recognised and singled out in recent years as a matter of urgent public concern. In this essay, the key contributing factors leading to this trend will be analaysed, thereby pointing out solutions to adress. To begin with, the trend seems to be caused by various factors climate change which the rise in global temperatures and decrease irregular rainfall patterns are causing the land to become dry and degraded. Moreover, long periods of drought lead to the death of vegetation that helps protect the the soil fro, erosion. Another probable contributing factor is that cutting down forests, execessive land use, using too many chemiscal. Next, strong winds strip away the fertile top layer of soil, significantly declining capacity to hold moisure and nutrients. Finally building many structures lead to damage the land and harm environment. With that being said, the detrimental impacts of this development could be easily dealt with if some active coutermeasures were carried our. First and fore most, it is imperative that people and government should be strict regulations on deforestation, miningm and land use practice. Besides, raising public awareness about evironmental protection and sustainable land properly. In addition, another precautionary measure to take into account is for regional and international cooperation is essential in combating desertification. For example, united nations convention on desertification. In conclusion, through what has been discussed about the root causes of desertification, it is evident that the trend comes with dire consequences. However, given that timely solutions are implemented by government and people in the countries, the negative influences will be reduced.