The quality of computer language translation has improved significantly in recent years. Therefore it is not necessary for children to learn a foreign language. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In the present day, improvement in technology allows people to understand any language instantly. Accordingly, most of the devices, such as computers, laptops, and mobile phones, consist of apps that help to translate to the individual’s mother tongue. As a result, some argue that it is not mandatory for pupils to learn foreign languages. However, I strongly disagree with that opinion due to reasons outlined below. Firstly, children can learn and adapt easily to languages in primary age, as their cognitive function is better. Therefore, the schooling period is the best time to teach anyone a different tongue. For example, the dedicated students from rural backgrounds, lacking exposure to English, often struggle to learn after reaching tertiary-level education at universities. Additionally, English proficiency is essential to develop the career as a professional in today’s world. Apart from that, even though most of the writing and reading can be achieved with the usage of technology, for the speaking and listening, people have to make an effort individually. In fact, there are some apps worldwide that recognise sound, text it, and convert phrases to the mother tongue. Nevertheless, this takes some time and needs access to the internet. Sometimes there can be situations where you cannot access the internet due to poor signal strength. Therefore, relying too much on it may lead to embarrassment and disgrace in front of the community. In conclusion, I believe technology is developed to teach people to understand, not to be dependent on it. Therefore, the education of foreign languages is essential for children in their primary school, as it creates better opportunities for them in the long term.