In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbour and the sense of community is lost. Discuss the causes and give measures to turn it around?

Nowadays, feeling isolated has become a common issue for many individuals. This essay will first suggest that the main causes to this phenomenon are busy lifestyle, and time spent by people in social media, and then argue how to recover the sense of belonging through social activities and shifting online connection to real communication between neighbours are the most viable solutions. The primary problem is that humans spend many hours at work, and at their leisure time they prefer to engage with others by using the internet. Increasing demand from work place, and higher competition have moved people attention to a more job orientated life, decresing the time shared with their communities. Furthermore, due to technology, individuals have shifted from real life social activties into virtual relationships, however, this only increase their feeling of isolation. To illustrate, twenty years ago people used to gather with their friends and families in the park, while in these days spending time in phones at home is preferred. Possible solutions to this problem is to pivot their personal lives from indoor towards outdoor and cultural activities at neighbourhoods to enhance true life relationships. Thus, local governments could play a fundamental role by inviting people to go outside and recover their connection with other residents from their area. Additionally, spending time in social media should be discouraged by local communities. A case in point is a measure recently applied in Santiago Schools, where children are not allowed to bring their phones with them during their breaks, consequently, their interacction has dramatically changed and they returned to play real games as soccer. In conclusion, addressing this isolation feeling is responsibility for all society participants. Thus, if we want to recover social life as it was, it is necessary to make a shift, and focus on investing our free time with our communities and household.