Developing countries should impose high tariffs on imported goods to protect and promote their local industries.

There has been a great deal of heated debate about whether the high tax rate should be encouraged by the developing countries so as to enhance their native businesses. While some people endorse this idea, others express dissenting opinions. Ultimately, my stance aligns with agreement. One of the bona fide reasons to support my argument is that the consumption rate of local products can be increased with the introduction of high import charges. To be precise, the price of commodities are likely to increase with the heightened taxes, which makes the foreign items unaffordable for ordinary people. This situation can crisis in market enables people to depend on products originated from their own nation. Another underlying logic appears to be the development of the local industries. To explain, the more demand on the locally made goods can be witnessed with the rise of tax on foreign goods, which in turn motivate more and more people to initiate small scale and large scale industries. Eventually, this could lead to the surge in individuals’ income and in national GDP. Another persuasive argument is that the higher tax /tariff imposed on materials from another nations would gradually foster the self-dependency of a country. In other words, the rapid tax increments forces foreigners to withdraw business from the host nation and this tense consumer action might be forced to generate resources for themselves, which decreases foreign dependency and improves self-sufficiency. For instance, China has discarded most of its importing business by imposing unaffordable tariffs which turned them to the greatest creator among whole nations as well as the largest exporters. To conclude, it is my considered opinion that implementation to extended tariffs is recommended for development of native industries on account of the fact that it would reinforce the local consumerism behavior, establishment of new businesses, and the self-sufficiency of the country.