Essay Question: Some people think that to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately-owned vehicles should be banned in city centres, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, traffic congestion is arising as one of the common issues in urban areas. It is argued that the best solution to improve metropolitan traffic flow is to ban non-public car usage. Conversely, the other group opposes this point and believe that it is such an impractical approach. In my view, both of the arguments states strong points however I support the latter reasoning. To begin with, it is claimed that restricting private cars in the metro can greatly reduce the obstruction in traffic flow. If the government can develop and execute a competitive and efficient public transportation system, then people will be encouraged to commute using buses or trains, thus limiting car usage. As a result, the fewer car -related carbon fumes in the air, the cleaner the environment will become. On the other hand, it is argued that banning car use is idealistic and extreme. If vast majority of commuters rely on the public transport system, in a long run, it can lead to transportation insufficiency. For instance, in densly populated areas, commuters may experience long queues and overcrowding because of inadequate infrastructure. Hence, managing this demand can eventually result in increasing public utility vehicles which still increases the car volume. In my view, addressing road congestion requires multifaceted approach which cannot be addressed by solely prohibiting private vehicles. Our government should consider both supply and demand factors, and other ways to optimize traffic operating practices.