Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this present world, the usage of technology is progressively evolving. The modern technology allows us to shift our workplaces and classrooms in digital platforms. For this reason, virtual learning and work-from-home set-up are on the rise because of the increased accessibility and inexpensiveness. In my view, this is a negative development in our community because it can potentially lead to psychological and social problems. To begin with, it is agreed that remote arrangement increases convenience in both work and academic settings because it eliminates the various living costs, such as transportation, wardrobe, meal expenses associated with face-to-face arrangement. For example, a student who doesn't need to do his daily commute going to school reducing his expenses on public transportation tickets or a work-from-home employee having the freedom to work from anywhere as all he needs is his laptop. The shift to online platforms provides financial and accessibility advantages to different groups. However, this arrangement can have a significant negative mental issues on a student or worker, such as difficulty in maintaining focus and impaired memory learning. According to recent evidence, increased screentime can result in mental stress and anxiety, and also linked to diminished attention span and concentration difficulties. Therefore, prolonged screen exposure brought about by this digital shift is detrimental to one's health. Notably, virtual classroom or workplace can also hinders social opportunities like collaboration and networking. For example, students who experienced online learning because of the COVID-19 pandemic faced difficulties in group collaboration because of the limited opportunities to interact with their fellow peers. Likewise, a new hire might have a harder time adjusting to his new roles because of the lack of direct supervision. Hence, reduced communication on immediate terms can slow down social growth among individuals. I, therefore, believe that remote arrangement both in work and academic setting creates a considerable negative outcomes. This is brought about by prolonged screentime and restricted communication between peers.