Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

With the rapid increase in the number of cars, growing traffic and pollution problems have aroused great concern among people. While it is proposed that raising the price of petrol is the most suitable method to solve these problems, I believe that it might be helpful to some extent. But it is definitely not the best solution. There is no doubt that higher petrol price will deter people to buy cars. Owing a car not only require a sum of money to purchase it, but also continuous expenses in insurance and fuel. If the price is rising, for the sake of saving the budget, some individuals will tend to reduce the frequency of using the car or give up the idea that buying a car, thus relieving the traffic congestion. What is more, it also led to more usage of public transportation. Rather than choosing a car to commute, people will prefer to take public transportation such as bus and train, which is both a cost-effective and eco-friendly way. Therefore, pollution problems will be improved significantly. However, relying solely on this method to solve problems is far not enough, other better solutions also should be considered. Firstly, government could put more financial resource to improve public transportation system. For example, trains are not available in some areas, people have to buy cars to travel. If the transportation net could be expanded to a larger area, the frequency of the car usage will be declined. In addition, enacting strict policies about traffic restrictions is an ideal method to decrease cars on the roads. For instance, only a certain number of cars are allowed to travel each day, the exhausted emissions will be relatively stable. Therefore, the traffic jam and pollution tend to be improved a lot. In conclusion, while I truly admit that enhancing price is a effective solution, it is not should be viewed as the best solution. We need to take into account multiple reasons why people using cars and adopt targeted ways to address them.