Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with?

In today’s globalised world, many languages have disappeared. There is a growing belief that fewer languages make communication more convenient around the world. I am partly in agreement with this idea as international communication makes life easier; however, there are some potential drawbacks. The simplest tool to connect is language. Acting as a fundamental bridge between simple and knowledgeable people, from the youngest to the oldest, also creates more opportunities for communication, sharing emotions, and developing knowledge. More specifically, many scientific reports have been published in English, then having a common language can help other scientists throughout the world to make more progress in specific fields. The effect of which prevents performing repetitive studies. As an example, research by the University of Cambridge found that publishing the results of studies in English, as an international language, has an effective impact on other activities, in terms of concept transfer, in comparison with previous research that they announced in folk languages. Poor translation can lead to misunderstanding. Thus, few languages can significantly reduce the rate of misunderstanding. On the other hand, opponents of this approach contend that local languages are the main part of a society that have deep roots in traditional culture and identity. Protecting them is everybody's social and personal duty, as there are historical legends behind them. For instance, a study conducted by Oxford University revealed that European colonialism in some African countries led to the suppression of original languages. As a result, without this diversity, cultural experiences become more uniform, which can lead to a duller and less innovative global culture. To sum up, I assert that although maintaining native identity is important, having a common language between people can lead to a more convenient connection and a more breakthrough. Consequently, I recommend that governments use both the mother tongue and the national language to support both their heritage and growth.