Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

The wasted food volume has increased dramatically over the past few years. There are many reasons, such as the low price of food and groceries, and the widespread advertisement leading to consumerism. There are some solutions, which could lead people to a more balanced lifestyle. Low-priced food is a result of overproduction. Firstly, companies' sole purpose is profit, which pushes them to lower the costs of production through economies of scale. This means the higher the production, the lower the costs. Secondly, the surplus needs to be sold in various ways, and one is vast advertisement. Having to mitigate their sales targets, companies try to depict overbuying as a natural way of living. For example, a full refrigerator in a two-person household seems normal in TV series and movies. Setting restrictions on production could balance prices. First of all, governments should play a more serious role in legislating new rules, which would encourage companies to decrease the surplus amount of food and groceries. Secondly, new investments in customer awareness through media could remind people of what benefits they could bring to other poor countries by decreasing waste. In conclusion, I believe that cheap food and consumerism should be resolved through stricter rules and customer awareness.