Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media sich as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

Some say that communal libraries shouldn’t spend their limited funds on technological materials such as documentries, computer programs, artificial intelligence, e- books and computers and only provide hardcover books. However, I completely disagree with this point of view because technological resources are much easier to store. Another very important reason it is convenient to analyse and find the knowledge in online resounces. First of all, physical capacity of a library limits the number of books it can served, it is possible to access millions of textbooks with a laptop. In other words, libraries could provide only a certain number of copies they have to their members and there is a limitation of book variety due to bookshelfs of the facility however if the library has the a e-book version unlimited number of reader can access the book at the same time. Also they could reach more diverse resources with the help of web. For example, when I was studying high school our school library allowed students to have three books at a time, however, right now as a Masters Degree student I can access more than five million books from my iPad anywhere. Moreover, new technological advancements transformed how libraries function, especially in the past three decades. In the past, users relied on printed cataloges and had to ask librarians to locate a book. With the usage of in-house computer systems, library members were able to do their own search independently, In the last decade, online databases have allowed users to identify which libraries hold a specific title without leaving their homes. Nowdays, artifical intelligence tools can analyse vast collections, pinpoint relevant texts, and even highlight the exact pages containing the required information. For instance, Master degree students in Türkiye nearly doubled the number of publications in recent years. In conclusion, some people say that libraries must buy hardcover books like they were used to do and shouldn’t invest in high technology resources like ChatGpt, online platforms and online textbooks. This essay disagrees with the point of view because storage capacity of libraries is considerably smaller than computers and online resources are easier to consume for members of libraries.