In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is a well-discussed topic that there are plenty of starving people regardless performance achievements in the agriculture sector. Many factors are responsible for this issue; however, social inequality and wrong allocation of resources are the main causes of famine in today’s world. Global cooperation and special campaigns may alleviate this problem. Social inequality has always pursued mankind since its very beginning and has became an inseparable part of it. Therefore, there will always be poor and rich individuals, with different access to food supplies. Despite agriculture is a high perfomance industry now, with the help of synthetic nutrients and a scientific approach, people are not able to reap the benefits of these equally, because of different opportunities. Individuals who have great wealth at their disposal may take more than needed, and reduce the amount of food that could be received by people with lower social status. For example, the USA, which is one of the richest economies in the world, produces millions of tons of food waste, while in poor countries, such as Pakistan or Liberia, famine is a common thing there. This illustration perfectly shows how social infairness and different amount of food supplies led to starvation in modern society. A viable way to address this burning issue is international work aimed at reducing unfairness in the allocation of vital resources such as food. Nevertheless various world organisations have adopted campaigns that provide financial help to developing countries, but there are still no any programs that exactly address the food allocation and hunger problem. However, if governments start launching campaigns related to this problem, the percentage of people who suffer from hunger will drop significantly. Moreover, ordinary people can also play a role in solving the issue of starvation by spurring politicians to pay more attention to this. This means that public speeches, posts in social media related to the problem can substantially accelerate its solution. To sum up, social inequality and unfair allocation of provisions hinder progress towards a future without hunger, however, if all the countries together try to solve it and individuals pay more attention to it, positive results will be achieved more quickly.