Some people believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop children`s life skills than time spent reading. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely assumed that engaging in active pastimes contributes more to the development of children’s life skills than reading books. While it is understandably true that participating in recreations can allow you to adapt to the environment and let you perfect your mastery proficiency, there’s no denying that books also entice you with vast amounts of knowledge. This essay will discuss both views and give examples. First and foremost, sports can enable children to develop their teamwork because there are some activities, such as soccer or basketball, that demand cooperation to be successful in the match. Therefore, participating in extracurricular activities can drive you to perfect your skills and enrich your soft skills. Secondly, it also teaches you about displaying considerable achievements. You should always practice hard, be resilient throughout your training, and be on time so as not to miss the class. Over time, you will be adjusted to the harsh moments. Ultimately, it will bear fruit. Hence, sportsmanship can build up your skills and incorporate factors that lead to fulfillment in the child’s development. On the other hand, reading books also aids in information or facts, which may be meaningful. For instance, reading news will allow children to grasp the current situations happening in contemporary society. As a result, they are able to avoid foreseeing accidents or harms. Moreover, it is the use of language that matters nowadays. With a persuasive speech you can easily get support or help from people. Consequently, reading books boosts not only your skills and knowledge to become an expert but also gives you a sense of persuasiveness, allowing you to get attention from people. In my perception, I think that the combination of both is better than doing one or the other singly at a single time. The empowerment of books lets you improve your communication, plus the fringe benefits of recreation, besides getting yourself in shape. In conclusion, it is pivotal that children take up sports to incorporate their further skills to advance, but reading also does the trick, as it provides you with a wider perspective on the world. A balance between both tasks will lead to additional betterment, as it allows you to absorb knowledge while developing yourself at the same time.