The rapid urbanization of towns and cities has led to numerous problems. Discuss the main causes of urbanization and its effects on society

Continuous development of towns and cities has brought about a lot of issues. There are various causes and effects of urbanization regarding society, and this essay will discuss it thoroughly. Firstly, unemployment is the major cause of rural-urban migration, as most job opportunities are found in the urban cities, resulting in huge number of people moving to those areas. For instance, white collar jobs are readily available and accessible in the cities than in smaller towns. Also, pay rates are higher, and this brings about citizens neglecting jobs like farming and fishing which negatively affects these sectors of the economy. In addition, the availability of social amenities in the cities is to be blamed for this movement. For example, schools, hospitals and entertainment centers are many in the urban areas forcing people to travel there. However, this results in increased pressure on these fewer facilities as people troop in to utilize them and government is then pressurized to provide more of such. Moreover, communicable diseases are are easily transmitted among individuals due to the high population. Also, combustion of fuel from vehicles contaminate the air leading to respiratory system diseases. To conclude, even though urbanization is good, crime rates conversely increase in such places.