Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is thus a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling locally produced goods. While there is a commonly held belief that it is a good progress, there is also an argument agnaist it. This essay will disccuss some of the reasons for this direction and then express why I tend to believe it is a negative development. On one hand, with increasing trade between countries these days, foreign products are easily accessible to the locals. There are many causes for this; the foremost reason is improved the transportation facilities. Due this, any items required from other lands are easily available in a short time. In addition, people often prefer international products to the local ones. For example, people in Eastern Asian countries tend to purchase American cosmatic products rather than the locally produced ones. So, the two main causes are the best trasportation and changed preferences that stand out. On the other hand, the effect of this trend has been and contunies to be very serious. The significant impact of this tendency is lowering of the local economy. As a seller decides to offer global goods, subsequentaly, this action affects economy of the internal goods as they are not getting sold in any market. Moreover, this action reflects on lowering the employment in the area. For instance, many farmers in Oman lost their farms due to the high demand on the international vegetables, resulting in loss their source of income. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. There are two major reasons for this trend. On balance, however, I tend to believe that relying on the global products rather than purchasing the locally produced ones is a negative step.