Nowadays, a lot of buildings, such as offices and schools, are being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

In modern society, open-plan design is implemented in numerous sectors and schools to promote transparency and the development of interpersonal skills. In my opinion, having an open-plan design might be detrimental, hence it is a negative statement. Firstly, it is believed that transparency is essential during work, as it brings credibility and reliability to both clients and the company's management. In other words, clients have a better impression of the company, and it also enhances the reputation of the productivity of employees. For example, a lot of sectors incorporate glass walls and doors to promote convenience and transparency for other workers. Secondly, open-plan design avoids the formation of barriers between students in school and workers in workplaces, allowing everybody in confined spaces to communicate with each other. Communication is the key to developing interpersonal skills, which is one of the most crucial abilities that most workers in the hospitality sector should master. Moreover, it strengthens the rapport between employees, leading to a more harmonious and comfortable working environment. Finally, an open-plan design may be minimalistic and provide companies with the opportunity to be transparent about themselves, but the design lacks privacy, which causes workers to feel uncomfortable and distracted by several factors. For instance, overcrowding and a noisy environment lead to diversion of attention while people are thinking, causing them to lose focus easily. Nevertheless, important documents and classified information are accessible to everybody, which may lead to stolen documents by rivals. In conclusion, the involvement of open-plan design in several offices and schools might be great for transparency and communication between people. However, I strongly believe that the lack of privacy and the overcrowding environment are detrimental.