The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In this contemporary era, there has been an upsurge in the number of overweight children. This trend has led to the community debating why this issue has occurred. This essay will discuss the causes of this sudden surge and the negative effects on society. The first and major cause is that children are consuming more junk food. In America, fast food, such as Wingstop and KFC, is easily accessible to everyone. This has led to more people consuming these fatty meals. Thus, more individuals have become overweight. For example, in Thailand, several fastfood offer a 24 hour delivery services. Undoubtedly, with this type of convenience, more people are likely to opt for junk food over healthy options. Similarly, there has been a trend on social media where teenagers film themselves eating Buldak ramen and post it on TikTok, in order to get more views and become popular. This trend has led to more people purchasing and consuming ramen, which is considered unhealthy and has many health risks, such as obesity and heart disease. Furthermore, an effect of this is that there is a strain on the public healthcare system. If more individuals are overweight, they are more likely to develop illnesses such as obesity, cancer or coronary heart disease. This means that more individuals would require access to healthcare services, so the government would have to increase its budget. This puts a financial burden on the government and can strain the healthcare resources. In a nutshell, a 20% rise in the number of overweight children is due to a rising trend in the consumption of junk food. This has led to an increase in health risk and a strain on medical facilities and the government budget.