Many people they spend large part of their free time using smartphones What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Spending most of the leisure time on phone usage is common among many individuals. In my opinion, there are numerous causes behind this, such as people choosing to live alone these days due to their careers and better job opportunities. Another reason for that is the overavailability of various social media applications, which, in perspective, is negatively impacting society. Admittedly, due to careers and better work opportunities, the masses are leaving their houses and settling abroad, which consequently leads to spending more time on their electronic gadgets instead of talking or visiting anyone. For example, most youngsters in Asian countries move abroad or move to other cities either for higher education or to get high-salaried occupations. Moreover, there are a lot of applications getting launched every day, by which individuals are fascinated and completely glued to screens to try the latest things. For instance, Instagram has recently introduced a feature in which people can scroll through reels, which later on is seen on YouTube too, in the form of shorts, taking up the time of the masses, resulting affecting badly on their precious health. As a result, better opportunities and regular upgradation in the applications and phones are the major reasons for spending most people's free time on them. Considering the time spent by people on their mobile phones, there are some negative effects people face, such as health issues. Likewise, the major reason for obesity is a sedentary lifestyle, which has been caused by the overuse of electronic devices. To exemplify, even adolescents these days are facing the problem of obesity and higher blood pressure, proven by most research, due to their interests in using phones instead of taking part in sports. Another vast impact of the overuse of smartphones is majority of old-aged people are getting neglected in these modern times; they are facing loneliness as the whole time of young ones is invested either in working or using the phones, which results in avoiding their grandparents or parents. Therefore, their mental health is being affected poorly. In conclusion, upgrading lifestyles leads to an update in technology, which has fascinated the masses, which is the major cause of the increasing usage of smart devices in free time, resulting in affecting their health badly. So, this is considered a negative progression for the whole world.