Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, there is a growing debate about what to include in the syllabus for children. Accordingly, some believe that aesthetic subjects are not essential during primary ages. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with the statement because there are many benefits outlined below. First and foremost, undoubtedly engagement in art can reduce anxiety and stress, as shown in research. Only one part of the human brain is capable of responding to art, music and drama, which is different from the part used for mathematics. In fact, the equal development of both is required for personal growth. Further, students who are inherently talented in these subjects are discovered only if they are given an opportunity. Therefore, it is evident that completely removing art subjects from the syllabus is not a better approach. Secondly, children often get opportunities to work in a team during aesthetic subjects. For example, school bands consist of a group, and their unity directly affects the output. Accordingly, these subjects are helpful in developing teamwork and self-esteem and eliminating shyness among peers. For instance, most pupils in primary school are often keen to perform at a concert at the end of the year.The appreciation from parents and teachers, even a simple clap, can entirely change a younger one’s life. In fact, that feeling of motivation is playing a major role in their little world. In conclusion, although it seems like aesthetic subjects are not vital for children, as discussed above, they play a major role in their younger periodTherefore, I completely disagree with the opinion about removing those subjects.s.