Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The majority of people do not know the meaning of a culture or religion's celebration and only want to celebrate and enjoy the event. I completely agree with this statement because people do not know the meaning of the celebrations, and because nowadays many festivals have a commercial connotation due to organisers not aiming at tradition. On one hand, when some people celebrate an event, they really do not know what they are celebrating. With time, many festivals lose their meanings, but many are still celebrated. One example of this is Christmas. When we are celebrating Christmas, we are celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ. However, a lot of people teach their children that Christmas is when Santa comes. Christmas is losing its true meaning, but people in many countries celebrate Christmas with big parties. In Argentina, we celebrate Christmas Eve and the 25th; for Argentinians, it is a good time to get together with family and friends and have big parties, but nobody goes to church to celebrate Jesus' birth. On the other hand, commerce replaces the meaning of many festivals, for example, the celebration of Halloween. Nowadays, people await Halloween not to celebrate its true connotation, but to sell costumes and candies. Furthermore, children await Halloween to dress up and collect candies in the famous trick-or-treat. In addition, the meaning of Halloween is completely different from what many people believe; however, advertisements induce people to celebrate Halloween just because it is an important economical event. In the USA, the celebration of Halloween gives a lot of economic profit to candy stores and costume stores because people always eat candies and dress up on October 31st. To conclude, most people enjoy festivals, but they do not know the meaning of the celebrations, and, because of commercial issues, organisers do not aim at tradition.