Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The escalation of environmental problems has garnered considerable attention in recent years. While the first group people believes that extinction of some species of animals and plants is a burning environmental issue, the second group thinks that there are other factors that have more detrimental impact on the nature. From my point of view, the extinction is a serious issue, however there are problems, such as global warming, that demand far more attention in their resolving. The compelling argument of the first group is that biodiversity is a root indicator of the nature’s “health”. To be clear, if no obstacles supresses development of the nature, the proportion of lost species will be at the minumum. Therefore, extinction of species should concern mankind, as it shows that some enviromental collapses are going know. The vivid example of it can be seen in the Aral sea shrinking problem when enormous number of fishes and plants were dying during this environmental catastrophe. If people paid more attention to the decreasing amount of local creatures, they would faster find the reasons of it, and this ecological catastrophe would never exist. As a result, the lost of some species can be a great impication of some bigger environmental issues and may help their rapid resolving. Nevertheless, opponents of this state that other environmental issues has more profound impact on the nature and people’s lives. As the loss of some animals and plants has no direct effect on the quality of an individual’s life, unlike global warming. For example, consequences of the increase in global average temperature detrimentally influence all the aspects of the people lives, from food supplies to accomadation problems. Consequently, if mankind overlook the concern of global warming, its implications, such as floods and extreme weather conditions, will dramatically reduce areas that could be used in agriculture and cover costal regions with water. For this reason, it is significantly important to concentrate environmental concerns that have more impact on out lives. To sum up, I believe that the decrease of some species is not the biggest environmental issue that humanity is facing now, there others, like global warming, that needs to be solved faster.