The cost of international travel is decreasing, and so the trend of international tourism is increasing in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend of tourism for countries?

In recent times, international tourism has gone up in a lot of countries due to a reduction in international travel fees. This essay intends to state the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in tourism in many countries. Firstly, the high rise in tourism translates to more revenue for those in the value chain. This means that there will be high revenue for hotels, lodges, tour guides, and transporters. For instance, in Zambia, a lot of tour guides in a town called Livingstone would take a lot of tourists to the Victoria Falls, also known as Mosi Otunya Waterfalls, as a result, they would earn a lot of income. Secondly, there is massive infrastructure development in these tourist towns. For example, a lot of roads are built by the council to make it easy for navigation, and there is also an increase in the construction of lodges near the tourist attractions. However, there are many disadvantages, such as a growth in crime by the local people, which is due to travellers coming into their towns. To illustrate, theft of phones by local people when tourists are taking photos is very common in some countries. The other disadvantage is the hike in prices of goods and services. For instance, during peak tourist seasons, furnished apartments, and lodges are so high that local tourists would not be able to afford, which then discourages many local people in other towns not visiting the tourist attractions. In conclusion, a decrease in travel fees creates advantages and disadvantages. The advantages include revenue creation and infrastructure development, while the disadvantages are a rise in crime and a high increase in goods and services.