In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In our contemporary world, we witness the burst of population, and it is crystal clear that this large number of people needs somewhere to live; in this regard, one of the possible options is to construct residential areas in the countryside. However, some individuals opine that saving such places has a higher priority than building houses in them. I disagree with this notion for two reasons, which I am going to elucidate in the following paragraphs. Beyond the shadow of a doubt, residents and people of a city need accommodations to live in; otherwise, they will leave, and by doing this, the economy of that area is threatened. For instance, Ahvaz is an industrialised metropolis in Iran, which accommodates a high number of companies and industries in it, and for this reason, it has an enriched economic situation. Two years ago, Ahvaz authorities wanted to build some residential areas in the city’s suburbs in order to absorb more workers from other towns to boost the financial situation, but Ahvaz inhabitants were totally disagreeing with that decision; therefore, the government could not construct anything and after just one year, that area faced a noticeable decline regarding its economic situation. Accordingly, as individuals are considered as the workforce for a city, it is highly reasonable to consider somewhere to accommodate them, even in the city’s surroundings. Besides, building outside the cities can be beneficial in such a way that two birds can be killed with one stone through this action; authorities can both accommodate their people and, meanwhile, preserve the natural reserves around cities. For example, in Switzerland, a high number of buildings and constructions can be seen built in the towns’ surroundings and landscapes. Simultaneously, these buildings did not harm the environment since they were constructed based on some regulations to preserve the nature as well. Consequently, construction inside the countryside does not mean that these areas will be vanished or be destroyed completely. To sum up, regarding the demand for building houses in the countryside, and the notion that this action can be harmful and should be avoided, I have maintained my reasons in detail to support the viewpoint of building homes in such places.