In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In many nations, although the levels of major crimes are declining, people feel more insecure than at any time before. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the media influence, and the most viable solution is a public awareness campaign warning people about this issue. Exaggeration from social media causes fear among the citizens even if it is not true. The media and social media often focus on rare or bloody incidents and repeatedly show them, creating the impression that crime is widespread. This results in an excessive fear of going out or walking around at night. For example, in the United States, FBI statistics show that violent crime rates have declined significantly since the 1990s. However, a 2022 Gallup poll revealed that most Americans believe crime is on the rise. The primary reason is that the media, television, and even platforms like Facebook and Twitter exaggerate individual crimes, such as shootings or violent robberies, creating the perception that the streets are more dangerous than they actually are. To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about what real life is like. Many people are afraid to go outside after dusk just because of fear, which is not in its place. An awareness campaign could shed some light on these difficult situations and allow people to be more open and honest about them. For instance, a similar initiative in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland resulted in a 52% decrease in people who are exaggerated in fear of crimes that do not exist. In conclusion, although crime rates in many countries have significantly declined, people still feel unusually afraid because media outlets mainly highlight serious crimes. However, this issue can be mitigated by educating the public about the reality of crime trends.