It is now possible for scientists and tourist to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the advancement of technology humans explore more and more of our world. Nowadays, it is possible for scientists and tourists to travel to the South Pole into remote natural environments. A big advantage is the exploration of untouched nature while this is simultaneously a danger for the environment due to tourist exploitation. On the one hand, scientists are able to take probes of the South Pole, explore new habitats and discover new animals. In recent times this is not limited to short-term research but also long-term. This is owed to building in extreme climate and supporting it from the outside. Discoveries can not only help humanity to understand Antarctica more, but also help to uncover new animals and their way of surviving the harsh cold. Furthermore, new bacteria can be studied and used in medical fields to prevent sicknesses from the extreme cold. On the other hand, opening this new habitat for tourists can pose dangers for the environment and untouched nature. The more affordable and accessible Antarctica gets, the more the environment suffers and the landscapes get destroyed by big hotels and tourist attractions. Not only that, but unknown bacteria and viruses, surviving under the ice for centuries, can spread and be taken home without being discovered. Without having a cure for them, this can cause unimaginable outcomes similar to corona. In summary, opening the South Pole to tourism not only destroys the habitat and nature there, but also poses risks for all of humanity through unknown illnesses. In conclusion, while the South Pole can give us many answers on the life there and help us understand how to fight subzero temperatures, it should be preserved and tourism should only be allowed with great care of the unknown.