Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as the Olympic Games and World Cup competitions have played an increasingly important role in our society. However, these days, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. How far do you agree with the view that such sporting events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a dispute over whether international sports events, such as the Olympic Games and the World Cup, waste immeasurable money, time and effort or not. From my perspective, the benefits of these events outweigh the disadvantages. In my opinion, the effectiveness of these sports events is long-term. During the establishment period, it did need countless costs, both financial and human. However, after significant events end, these avenues which was built can be another purpose. For example, in Beijing, one of the avenues serves as the biggest concert venue in China. In this way, it brings not only the economic benefits of the concert itself, but also other economic effects. For instance, fans who attend a concert need accommodations; therefore, it increases the income of the hospital industry. Moreover, meals are also one of a necessity. As a result, it also boosts the catering industry. Another reason why I support holding a huge sports event is that it could increase the economy during the time of event. The reason is similar to the above one; however, it not only boosts the region around these avenues, but also the whole country. Taking the Paris Olympics as an example, people went to Paris to watch competitions, and they went to other areas for travel as well, such as Lyon. In other words, holding a sports extravaganza boosts the GDP not only for the event itself, but also for the side tourism. In conclusion, I deeply believe that although holding a major sports event does have some disadvantages, the benefits are still more than that because in the long-term view, the economy could be improved and boosted in ways we probably can not imagine.