The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that working days should be reduced and employees should have an expanded weekend. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because shorter work hours and longer weekends will increase the productivity of the employees, and it will improve their physical and mental health as well. Fewer working hours will boost employees ' productivity because they won't be exhausted all week. If workers had a long shift during the day, they would hate their workplace because it makes them exhausted, and they would prefer to postpone some tasks to finish their work faster. Therefore, employers should reduce the staff shifts if they want a more productive workforce. For example, Harvard University has recently reported that the workers who have shorter working hours than the standard workers at the weekend evidently complete more tasks. Another reason why companies should impose longer weekends is that this practice will enhance the psychological and physical health of their staff. An extended weekend means more opportunities to spend time with family, and that will enhance the employees ' mental health. Furthermore, they can spend more time doing exercises, and therefore, their body will be more fit. For instance, Microsoft has implemented a programme which is reducing the workdays and expanding the weekends, and the result was that their staff became 40 per cent better mentally and physically than they were before. In conclusion, shorter working hours and longer weekends not only boost employees ’ productivity but also safeguard their mental and physical fitness, making it a beneficial policy for both individuals and organisations.