Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several schools face the challenge of bullying among students such that if left unchecked, it can affect the performance of students, academically, phisically, mentally and socially as well. There are several reasons why this development has become rampant. This essay will explore why students engage in this undesirable behaviour and also provide ways to end it. Students often learn from what they watch, either on television or the people around them. When children are allowed to view movies beyond their age restrictions especially those with acts of violence, they may try to replicate such scenes with their colleagues in school. Likewise, when they witness violence at home between their parents, this results in a buildup of resentment and anger that can be manifested as aggression and maltreatment of their peers in school. For example, a child whose father harasses the mother or siblings will think that is the normal way of life, and would do the same when he or she gets to school. Lastly, children often display deviant traits in order to seek attention from others. Hence, a child who is neglected might misbehave towards their classmates as a way to be noticed by teachers or their friends. Even though bullying is very difficult to eliminate, there are several ways to mitigate the frequency and magnitude of its occurrence. One of the most important measures is raising awareness about it among parents and teachers so that they can be vigilant and look out for such tendencies in their wards. It will also be important to teach the children how to respect and tolerate each other, irrespective of their differences in age and physical appearance. These lessons should be taught both at home and in school. Studies have revealed that schools that incorporate anti-bullying lectures in their curriculum have a lower incidence of such compared do not have such arrangements. To sum it up, bullying has become a cause of enormous concern especially within institutions of learning, however a wholistic approach involving both teachers and parents will go a long way in preventing the debilitating effects of this menace.