People were happier in previous generations compared to now. To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, the graph of people happiness has been declining at an unprecedental pace, raising serious concerns about its effect on mental and physical health. It is argued that previous generations were more happy as relatively to now. In the past, people were living simple life, less stressful, eating healthy food, therefore, I completely agree with this view. The primary reason behind the people happiness in the past is life with low desires. Although in the past times people were less advanced in terms of technology, they used to work only to have basic needs, such as food, shelter and clothes. Unlike today's people who are just running behind materliastic things such as luxary life, and failure to do so causing stress and anxiety. Moreover, past generations used to walk, excercise and eat healthy food, which prevent them from several illnesses, making them healthier. Nowadays, people have hectic schedules and spend less time with nature and family members. This lifestyles causes frustrations, which is directly effecting relationships and leaving them alone. In contrast, in previous times, people use to spend a lot of time together and therefore, family bonds were stronger, which ultimately makes one stronger and happier. Furthermore, another reason people are less satisfied today because of increased job competitions. Due to rise in development of technology, several job has replaced by robotic machines, raising unemployment and increasing competition for getting a job, as a result, failures to get one feel worthless. In conclusion, without a doubt people were much satisfied and happy in the past times, as they followed simple and healthy lifestyles with low expectations. However, technological advancements not only make people's lives busier but also increased competition, which is one of the main reasons behind their dissatisfactions with life.