In many countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year after finishing high school and before starting university studies. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current era, some people believe that taking a gap year before pursuing their studies at university, it is better to travel overseas or work. I believe that it is a good idea because they have become more responsible. On the one hand, taking a gap year before starting school is not for everyone. That is because some young people waste their time during that period instead of gaining knowledge or building a new skill. For example, my friend who took a gap year did not use that year in a good way. Therefore, he found difficulties in the learning process, and it was hard for him to focus for a long time. What can be said is that some students do not have a plan for taking a year off, so they are wasting their time. On the other hand, some students are learning a new skill in that period. In other words, they try to learn a skill to make money from it. For instance, some students are starting to make YouTube videos to be content creators in the future. Moreover, those students become more independent and responsible in the future. Not only do they learn a new skill, but they also follow their passion by trying what they want to do. To conclude, by highlighting the above-mentioned points, what can be said is that, although some youth did not deal with that year appropriately, others made plans to change their life in that year to become more independent. I strongly recommend that students take that opportunity to start a new course or to gain extra experience, if they can manage it.