Essay Question: In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or mall to do their shopping. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Currently, people prefer shopping centres over local shops, that is making small shops closed. In the past, people usually visited small marketplaces in their neighborhoods. However, with the development of modern cities and technology, people ’s shopping habits have changed a lot. In my opinion the big shopping malls are more capable than others. For the reason that they have lots of different stores for families and they have greater offers than others. In addition, shopping centres are considered safer and more comfortable places, especially for families with children. Unlike traditional markets, they offer parking areas, air conditioning and modern facilities. Firstly, in large stores, many people watch a movie after shopping.They offer international cuisines from fast food to traditional meals. Besides, they have grocery stores so people don't have to wander around the city for different stalls. Furthermore they own a wide variety of products and fashion. However, many people don't like the offers or the range of the things they sell. For example, the clothes are the same and expensive. Secondly, the small boutiques have their own style and cozy area for customers to explore and shop for their own fashion. Families and younger generations like small traditional places like these shops because they can find unique products. Small vendors also provide a warmer atmosphere, where sellers know their customers personally. This creates trust and a friendly shopping experience. Yet, these markets have a small amount of product that they sell and struggle to keep up over big malls. All in all, the small local boutiques can’t compete with other markets and nowadays many people choose big stores for good quality and modern areas. In my opinion, big marketplaces are best for shopping and good quality time for families. On the other hand local vendors should be supported by other stalls and the government, because they are valuable for culture and economy.