Recent advances in medicine have resulted in an increase in life expectancy over the past four years. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

We have observed a lot of progress in medicine, due to the advancements in technology, recently. One of the positive effects of this phenomenon, has been longer life time during the past 4 years. In my opinion, the benefits of this fact are more than the drawbacks. In this essay, I am going to clarify both aspects. A longer lifespan can have significant positive impacts on societies, older people and their families. For example, it provides opportunities for older adults to travel after their retirement. They can experience more joyful moments, which help them to improve their mood and quality of their life. Furthermore, older generation have more time on their hands. Therefore, they can support their family members in taking care and upbringing their grandchildren. Hence, their children can be more successful. Finally, seniors can be considered as assets of the society. Because they have valuable experiences in their field to guide younger generations and lead the society to a more brilliant future. On the other hand, apart from the positive mentioned, higher longevity can have some negative points. For instance, elderly people often require special care and attention due to their reduced ability to do their daily activities, so a lot of workforce is hired to help them and these younger groups cannot be so effective for their country. Similarly, governments must have to consider more budget for meeting older people’s need such as their drugs, which can lead to high annual expenses and may limit investments in other areas. In conclusion, although sometimes governments are forced to struggle elderly people’s difficulties, existence of the older adults are so precious for different parts of the countries and we have to appreciate them a lot for all their helps.