Some people think that Olympic games are exciting events that bring other nations together. Others say Olympics is a waste of maney and the money could be better spent on other things. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Holding the Olympic Games requires a large amount of money. A certain number of individuals consider that these events contribute to togetherness globally. By contrast, others claim that the money spent on the Olympics ought to be channelled to other favourable areas. In my view, the Olympics are an excellent opportunity for societies, but there are some factors that cannot be overlooked. In terms of tourism and culture, the Olympic Games bring millions of people to a particular region. This is the event that fans stop paying attention to each other's nationality and language, sharing the same excitement and emotions. Subsequently, fans initiate further communication, which enhances a sense of unity. Moreover, the teams that attend the Olympic Games can attract tourists to their countries, boosting cultural exchange. It is a clear example that after a Uzbek boxer called Hasanboy Doʻstmatov won a gold medal in the Olympics in 2016, most people started not only supporting Uzbek sportsmen, but also the Uzbek nation and culture. On the other hand, the Olympic Games are generally funded by the budget that is funded by taxpayers. As this event requires a large amount of capital for the preparation process, facilities for sportsmen, and awards for the winners, individuals may be disappointed with this inadequate spending. The citizens frequently claim that it is better to spend this money on improving healthcare services, education, and the environment. In my opinion, the Olympic Games ought to take place in developed countries, such as the USA, Canada, and the UK. Regarding other countries, there are more valuable fields to invest in than the Olympics. In conclusion, although there are certain drawbacks of holding the Olympic Games in terms of economy, it is the best opportunity to bring people together, since sport can attract different nations to one place