Crime rates have been increasing in many cities around the world. What are the key problems contributing to this rise in crime, and what solutions can be implemented to tackle these issues?

In recent times, crime rates have increase in many cities around the globe. This essay will elaborate on the key problems contributing to this rise in crime and discuss solutions that can be implemented to tackle these issues. First of all,it is an undeniable fact that crime rates have increased over the past few years.One main cause for this due to unemployment. Majority of the youth between the ages of 18 and 30 do not get work to do when they complete University. As a result,they engage in crime activities such as robbery,gambling and fraudulent acts with the aim of getting money to survive. A research conducted by the Ministery of crime in Ghana revealed that 80% of crimes are due to economic hardships. This study clearly shows that economic problems contributes to the rapid increase in crimes Additionally, peer pressure is another major key factor that contributes to increase in criminal acts.Youngsters between the ages of 15 and 25 are easily influenced by peers. Due to this, the are lured into criminal activities such as internet fraud.A study conducted by Social science students in Kwame Nkrumah University showed that crime rates has rapidly increased over the past few years as a result of peer influence. This study vividly shows how peer pressure contributes to increase crime rates However,there are some ways to adopt to help curb these problems.Educating the general public is one main solution to these problems.The government should help educate the public about the negative impact of increase crime rates in the country and lives of people. This can be done though the media,newspapers,graphics and posts.Young children can also be educated in schools through social studies and making it a compulsory course. Law enforcement is also another solution to increase crime rates.The government can do this by making strict rules and regulations to govern crimes and also making sure anyone who breaks the law is punished or sanctioned.By so doing,it will serve as a deterrent from criminal activities. In conclusion, peer pressure and lack of employment are the main contributing factors to increase crime rates however creating public awareness through education and enforcing laws.