Some people believe that lowering the speed limit is the best way to improve road safety. Others think that there are other ways to make roads safer. Discuss these two options and give your opinion.

It is often believed that decreasing speed limit is the best way to improve safety on roads whiles others think that there are different ways to make roads more safer. This essay will elaborate on both options and the writer will give an opinion in subsequent paragraph On the one hand, low speed limit helps with road safety by creating awareness to drivers.In many countries such as England,drivers are expected to drive within a specific speed limit.These speed limits vary depending on the type of road and the environment as well.A clear example is in towns, speed limits are normally 20mph which is normally fixed.As a results,the safety level is always high since drivers would not be speeding to cause any fatal accidents. On the other hand,banning of the use of hand held devices is another way to reduce road accidents.In recent times,the use of technological devices while driving has become rampant specifically the use of mobile phone.Mobile devices which are key distractions on roads when banned, it will help in the improvement of road safety. A research conducted in the University of Cape Coast by Communication students revealed that banning of the use devices while driving has caused a rapid decrease in accidents. This is a clear reason why preventing the use of hand held devices can help improve safety on roads Additional,banning of the use of international driving license is another way that helps road safety. Majority of people who migrate from undeveloped countries such as Africa and Arab countries abroad to search for greener pastures normally drive with their international license which is not safe as they might not be used to the rules and regulations. For example in United Kingdom,domiciliary carers drive to resident homes to provide care for them.Most of them are not used to the roads but are allowed to drive with their international license which results in accidents In conclusion,even though minimizing speed limits helps with road safety but banning the use of international license and use of hand held devices are the best way to help improve road safety