It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In the modern era, exchanging gifts with each other on memorable occasions is a tradition. It had been observed that some humans think that giving gifts is are waste of money. I agree with this statement to a large extent. My inclination is elaborated in the ensuing paragraph and relevant examples. The foremost argument to justify my stand is that the present sometimes is not as valuable as compared to other things, such as cash. For instance, celebrate a child's birth and give a toy set that is expensive, and they broke it breaks, it will be garbage, but if people gave a wage instead of a treat, it would be better. It is also true that many presents end up collecting dust or being returned. Furthermore, the other reason to prove my point is that social norms around birthdays, holidays, and weddings, often force relatives into spending out of obligation. To illustrate, presents are mandatory if you are attending a ceremony no matter whether it usefully or not. Moreover, instead of tokens, finding alternatives is are good opportunity, such as handwritten letters are more lovable. To conclude the discussion, it can be said that despite the fact of spending funds on gifts, my reasons for giving payment instead of tokens and making it compulsory for every event are not necessarily logically acceptable.