The popularity of a product depends on the advertising, not on the real needs of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally accepted that the widespread purchasing of popular products is a consequence of advertising stratergies rather than societal demand nowadays. This essay will dicuss the reason why I completely agree with this idea. First of all, well-crafted advertisements are inclined to cause psychological manipulation. Adverts have a tendency to form a sense of urgency or temtation to buy something rather than highlighting the product's utility or function. For instance, customers shopping in the mall are more likely to find an item compelling if its scarcity, valuae or the fact that it is on sale is stressed by the seller. In this case, they tend not to reflect on its genuine necessity and be won over by marketing tactics. Furthermore, consumerism is a key factor driving the popularity and sales of in-demand products. Consumerism has been a general trend currently, and a majority of people consider excessive consumption as a demonstration of their social sucess. This leads to unnecessary buying, forming an unhealty purchasing pattern, buying consumer goods to maintain a certain image rather than fulfilling their personal need. Moreover, it is quite obvious that there is frequently a disparity between socially indispensable products and those that dominate the market. To illustrate, non-essential commodities, such as ls luxury handbags and fast fashion clothing usually generates considerable revenue even though they do not meet people’s fundamental needs. This consumption patterns are usually influenced by social trend including the urge to imitate celebrities. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the booming sales of popular goods nowadays are a testament to the strength of advertising rather than the reflection of the true needs within society. This is considering the manipulation that can be caused by ads, the general trend of consumerism, and the tendency of people purchase products through being influenced by TV shows or celebrities.