The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals think that applying severe punishments for traffic violations is a great method to significantly enhance the safety of the streets, while others believe that this is not a good way to prevent accidents. I completely concur that increasing punishments is an incredible way to make individuals feel safer. Firstly, increasing the amount of money for violations is considered a deterrent for individuals. Human beings can be more willing to break the law if they feel that there is no consequences, so making traffic violations more costly can prevent a considerable amount of those incidents. Furthermore, people can be sensitive when it comes to spending a lot of money because they make a huge effort to earn that cash. To give an illustration, if the government raised the violations for wrong parking, the accidents caused by this erroneous practice would decrease. Moreover, some individuals are afraid of having a bad record. Having a significant number of offences can lead to a bad traffic record, which can have a detrimental effect. One of the major effects is that getting insurance will be more costly, and one might not be able to afford it. Additionally, if someone reaches a certain number of offences, they might lose their driving license permanently. This can lead to increased safety on the roads. To conclude, I completely agree that having strict laws to organise the traffic is essential to ensure more safety to human beings, while reducing the punishments for breaking the law can lead to an increased number of accidents on the streets.