Many countries believe that hosting international sporting events like Olympics or World Cup is a great idea. Others think that it is a huge mistake. Give the advantages and disadvantages of hosting international sporting events.

In recent years, it has become far more normal for many countries to think hosting international sporting happenings (such as Olympics and World Cup) is the best concept. This essay will explore both perspectives with clear examples. On the one hand, one key reason for prioritising global sporting competitions impact on economic development. That is to say, a multitude of visitors visit in the worldwide sports tournaments. Moreover, they spend money on accommodation, transportation, food, and entertainment services, so the country’s value increases. For example, during the 2018 football tournament, millions of fans travelled to different cities which generated billions of dollars revenue. As a consequence, major global championships can significantly strengthen the host country’s economy more effectively. If it were not for holding contests, nation’s status would decrease sharply. Given that these tournaments influence enhance not only the state’s economic stability, but also its global recognition. On the other hand, the main reason why the world-class sports contest requires enormous financial costs. Namely, the state should allocate funds for the construction of stadiums, roads, hotels, and other infrastructure. For instance, during the 2004 Olympic Games, Greece fell into debt and many stadiums were left abandoned afterwards. To sum up, while it is true that it influences the country’s fiscal in an effective way, it is also clear that it can lead to monetary difficulties.