In recent years, people watch more movies from overseas. What are the reasons for this? Should the government give financial support to local cinema to produce local films?

People have been watching more cinema from overseas in recent years. To tackle this, the state is suggesting whether or not to give financial support. There are a variety of reasons for this phenomenon. To begin with, overseas films are usually heavily marketed to capture the general audience, hence hindering the development of the local films. Somewhere along the line, big hits like superhero films reflect their influence on the local box office. Another significant reason to mention is that the public is generally drawn to unique and newer things that differ from the usual things they deal with in their culture or environment. However, this begs the question of whether or not the authority should financially support the local cinema in order to push the local films ' production. On one hand, the repercussion of overseas cinema dominating the box office would not promote or preserve the locals' cultural identity. On the other hand, financing films is not a cheap option, as it would make a dent in the local tax money or funds. In fact, producing films is a huge risk as they are more prone to flop due to not being able to target a large crowd. In conclusion, people are more likely to watch overseas film in recent years as they are dominating the field by being heavily invested and have more appeal to a wider audience. The question of whether the state should financially support local films ' production is complex, as they serve a role in the local culture and the international image. However, it still has massive drawbacks to the authority's spending. Ultimately, it would depend on the people and the authority’s interest or priority in balancing the cultural values with the principles of the free market.