Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivataion for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued whether the penalty for a specific crime should be fixed or flexible. While some people believe that both the criminal motives and the consequences of their offences should be factored into their punishment, I do not consider this to be a good idea and will discuss about both sides further in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some individuals admire the flexibility of the crime punishments for one strong reason. In some cases, the perpetrator of a serious crime had never thought of committing that. In other words, they are involved in a random crime that may have some casualties, but was never intentional. For instance, an innocent girl who experiences a vicious, brutal rape may make any effort to defend herself, even if it leads to the rapist's murder. In such examples, the offender's motivation is strong enough to prove their innocence. However, I believe that these cases are not that common, and not passing fixed rules for punishment leads to tremendous chaos. On the other hand, some people believe that governments should introduce strict, harsh and fixed penalties for each crime for two main reasons. First and foremost, if the punishments were not fixed, they could never be a strong deterrent from committing crimes. That is, the flexibility of punishments can be abused by offenders and their lawyers, making them think that they can always escape the penalties by proving that they have not committed a crime deliberately. Secondly, I think it is not fair to punish convicts who have committed the same crime with the same consequence differently. Despite the horrible crime he committed, the rapist of the previous example had the right to live and should have been punished appropriately, and his murderer should be given the appropriate penalty too. In conclusion, although some people believe that the criminals' intention and the consequence of their crimes should be taken into account to punish them, I believe that the same strict rules are the strongest deterrent factor, and all the criminals should be treated in the same fair way.