Today more and more tourist are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

There is no denying the fact that nowadays more and more tourists are visiting remote and harsh distinations, such as the Sahara desert, and the Antarctica. This essay will discuss the benefits and negatives of this type of tourism. Emphasising the possible pros of these tourist attractions, the major one could be to see the raw and untouched sites. In other words, people can watch the beauty of glaciers and sand dunes, which can not be observed in conventional destinations. Another remarkable aspect is the educational value. To illustrate, most of these places are guided by travel experts, so visitors can get in depth-knowledge of landscapes, and they can learn more about the history of the site. Not only this, adventurous trips leave good long-lasting impression on people's minds, and this helps face life challenges. Conversely, there are numerous disadvantages of this type of journeys which can not be ignored. Firstly, travellers should be prepared to encounter bad conditions or unexpected accidents in remote places. In simple words, there are more likely to face harsh weather conditions, poor medical services, lack of supplements or resources, and many other issues that can cause life-threating problems. Secondly, tourists might directly disturb wildlife. For instance, studies have shown that in recent years 15% of the Antartica's animals left their habitats due to the growing number of tourists in the area, leading to endanger such locatoins. In conclusion, with no doubt there are numerous advantages of exploring such unique and remote places, however, the serious cons of this trend can not be undermined.